Saturday, March 5, 2016

The End... or Is it the Beginning?

Thanks for the wild ride, guys. I've decided to merge this blog with my major blog into a new one at Wordpress... come follow me at https://acatholicstumblingthroughlife.wordpress.com/ !!!

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Folie à Deux | Album Review

I started listening to Fall Out Boy this summer and it has quickly become my favourite band. Therefore, I thought it would be appropriate to write a review (okay, it's a lot more meta than an actual review) of my favourite album. Folie is my favourite FOB album because it critiques pop culture today - to quote the members of the band, "how it affects our thoughtfulness and triggers our carelessness."


Genre: emo rock, pop punk, alternative rock
Released: December 2008

1. Disloyal Order Of Water Buffaloes
"I'm a loose bolt of a complete machine."

I found this song difficult until I had a really difficult time in my life and this song suddenly clicked. To me, this song is about someone who is in a difficult relationship where he or she feels worthless ("I'm coming apart at the seams / Pitching myself for leads in other people's dreams"), feels like he or she is tricked into a relationship ("Perfect boys with their perfect ploys"), and then left alone. "I'd promise you anything for another shot at life," the writer begs; but every time he tries to fix the situation, it is merely a "butterfly bandage" and he always falls into the same trap, an endless cycle ("detox just to retox;" "a telescopic camera") because he cannot see any way out of the situation. He knows he needs help ("Doc, there's a hole where something was"), but he's too afraid to seek help outside of himself ("Hey doctor, I'm certifiable [to help myself]") because he believes that no one really cares about him, or at so he thinks - other people are all "painted dolls" who fake sympathy: "nobody wants to hear you sing about tragedy." He/she is "half-doomed" and the woman/man is "semi-sweet." (I wrote a spin-off poem on this song.)

2. I Don't Care
"The best of us can find happiness in misery."

This song has been described by main lyricist Pete Wentz as a "narcissist's anthem." While the lines "I don't care what you think as long as it's about me" is definitely narcissistic, I feel that there is more to this song than just the artist proclaiming self-love. "These friends, they don't love you / They just love the hotel suite" seems to point to the narcissism of today's society - people that you thought were friends are really just using you for their own self-interest, being your 'friend' when they can get something out of you. Therefore, I would argue that the artist is not proclaiming himself as a narcissist, but rather calling out other people, and today's society as a whole.

3. She's My Winona
"Then came a baby boy with long eyelashes."

I looked into what other people think of this song and this one seems to be about how the band has changed their music over the years - but the fact that they are also lucky to still be successful with the ups and downs of life. This could point to a warning/message to new musicians. However, the lyrics also point to Pete's first Bronx and I've seen some people see the lyrics as talking about the situation in Iraq at the time.

4. America's Suitehearts
"You could have knocked me out with a feather."

If any song on this album is a criticism of today's society and the media, this is definitely one of those. This song especially critiques America's "suitehearts" (celebrities), pointing out their narcissism and fall into ruin: "Why won't the world revolve around me?", "I've got a lot of friends stuck on classic coke," and "I'm in love with my own sins" being just a few examples.

5. Headfirst Slide Into Cooperstown On A Bad Bet
"I don't just want to be a footnote in someone else's happiness"


This song is about a married woman cheating with the writer on her husband ("Does your husband know the way that / The sunshine gleams from your wedding band?"). I may do another post on an analysis of this song coupled with Patrick Stump's song "The 'I' In Lie" from his solo album Soul Punk to show that this situation is not being shown in a positive light, but there are definitely lines in the song that point to the negative connotation: "But, I will never end up like him. / Behind my back I already am" and "peroxide princes shine like shark teeth." "Wish I didn't I didn't I didn't I didn't," the singer repeats.

I really like to listen to this song when I'm feeling down because of the line: "darling, I know what you're going through."

6. The (Shipped) Gold Standard
"You can only blame your problems on my world for so long before it all becomes the same old song."

I disagree with most of the interpretations of this song - for me, it definitely has the feel of a love song, but I wouldn't apply it to Pete and his wife Ashlee, but rather Pete and his band mate / best friend, Patrick Stump (I really love their friendship, okay?... it's called agape!!). "I wanna scream I love you from the top of my lungs / But I'm afraid that someone else will hear me" could point to the brotherly love between the two, but how the media always blows such declarations out of proportion (if you don't know what I'm talking about, be glad).  Some of the lyrics seem to point to Pete's depression/bipolar/car episode (see notes on "What A Catch, Donnie") - "as soon as we hit the hospital, I know we're going to leave this town," and I can definitely imagine Patrick coming to visit Pete in the hospital and promising his friend that they'll leave as soon as he gets better. My favourite line is "You can only blame your problems on my world for so long before it all becomes the same old song" - perhaps Pete realizes that he has to figure out his own problems, and not blame nature or other people for his disorder.

7. (Coffee's For Closers)
"I will never believe in anything again / Though change will come / Oh change will come / I will never believe in anything again."

In their first performance of the song, Pete Wentz stated that "this song is about cameras... how they can put us in a cage or set us free. Change is ok, if it's real change. And we need change in places like Sri Lanka, Burma, Northern Uganda. And we need cameras there instead of cameras following [fake] people in Los Angeles... myself included."

Genius.com points out the use of the line "coffee's for closers only," referencing Glengarry Glen Ross (making me fangirl a little because I did this play in English class), in which 'closers' were the real estate agents who were able to close their sales. Anyone who did not manage to do so in the movie were in big trouble - which could show that only the successful people in the media get what they want. I also picked out some other lyrics, such as the "I'm a mascot for what you've become." This sounds to me a lot like when people today love a celebrity so much that they follow what that celebrity does and defend them in whatever they do... and yet, these celebrities are not the people that they used to be. (Taylor Swift in my point of view... I know a lot of people who defend her in everything she does, even with the bad changes.) And yet, Patrick also sings "baby, when they made me they broke the mold" - perhaps this means that he steps outside the mold of our culture with excessive love of celebrities by critiquing these people?

8. What A Catch, Donnie
"I've got troubled thoughts and a self-esteem to match."

This is one of my favourite songs off the entire album, perhaps even my favourite FOB song. Not only are the lyrics so very clever in the way that they hit home ("I've got troubled thoughts and a self-esteem to match" - I'm sure everyone has felt this way at some point), but I love the way that the lyrics of the band's most popular songs have been incorporated in at the end, sung by friends of the band. Pete Wentz wrote this song with Donny Hathaway in mind, a famous singer who committed suicide, who also performed several duets with Roberta Flack (the "Miss Flack" in the song); the song highlights the relationship between Pete Wentz and Patrick Stump, who had been a great support for Pete when battling with his depression and bipolar (and did attempt suicide at one point as referenced in "Hum Hallelujah" from the band's previous album Infinity On High).

The previous FOB songs referenced (in order of appearance) are:
Elvis Costello - "Headfirst Slide into Cooperstown on a Bad Bet"
Gabe Saporta - "Grand Theft Autumn"
Travis McCoy - "Sugar We're Going Down"
Brendon Urie - "Dance, Dance"
Doug Neuman - "This Ain't A Scene, It's An Arms Race"
Alex Deleon - "Thnks Fr Th Mmrs"
William Beckett - "Growing Up"

9. 27
"If home is where the heart is then we're all just _____."

This song has the appearance of a word I'd prefer that wasn't there, but other than that, this song is one that I quite like. "27" critiques the successful star hooked on drugs ("I'd shoot sunshine into my veins;" "milligrams in my head"). After sinking into the ditch ("are all the good times getting gone?"), the singer "can't remember the good old days," but keeps going on the path of debauchery ("My body is an orphanage / We take everyone in" -> I think this is the cleverest lines in the entire song) because "if I keep it up we'll all get rich." In the end, "I've got a lot of friends who are stars / But some [most???] are just black holes."

10. Tiffany Blews (ft. Lil Wayne)
"Oh, baby you're a classic / Like a little black dress"

Of all the songs on this album (that I can't even count how many times I've listened to), this is the one that I still struggle with. To me, there's something to do with a relationship ("I can make your heart slow... Your pupils they're big"), but the writer does not appear to be happy being in it, using words and phrases such as "got stuck," "hate me baby," "faded moon," "faded soon," "gravity you held me down," and "not the boy I was." Perhaps his friends are encouraging him to stay in this relationship ("my friends all lie and say / They only want the best wishes for me"), perhaps because the girl is the type that 'everyone' would want to be with: "oh baby you're a classic." I'm still trying to figure out who the "little hot mess" refers to. At first I thought it was the girl referred to in the song (perhaps Ashlee Simpson), but then I decided it might refer to Pete himself as he calls himself "a piece of art" in this song; just because Pete has low self-esteem ("mess") doesn't mean that he doesn't know that other people (especially adoring fangirls?) think that he's good-looking. To further reinforce the idea that the song is from Pete's point of view, the song begins with "I'm the cry baby," referencing the band's emo roots.

11. W.A.M.S.
"Hurry, hurry, you put my head in such a flurry. ... What makes you so special?"

The full name of this song is Waiter/Actor/Model/Singer - according to Genius.com, "[t]his is a reference to the stereotype of people who often move to Hollywood with aspirations of 'making it' as an actor or musician, but end up working jobs like being a waiter to make ends meet, yet still refer to themselves as all of those things when they aren’t yet 'professional'." The song definitely references the young and impressionable who are easily swayed by the ideas of the ones in charge of the media - "I'm a young one stuck in the box of an old one's head." With fame, "my head's in heaven," but real life is a different matter - "my soles are in hell," which could either refer to actual soles/feet being planted firmly in the real world, or it could be a pun on "souls" - referring to the idea from "27" that most celebrities fall into the gutter. All the young person/celebrity in question wants to do is fit in ("it's your club, so let me in"), but that only leads to his or her downfall because it is only by doing exactly what he or she is told, being made into a new person ("build me"), that he or she will get anywhere - "what makes you so special?" I like the way this song ends with Patrick Stump singing acapella.

12. 20 Dollar Nose Bleed (ft. Brendon Urie)
"Have you ever wanted to disappear and join a monastery?"

Brendon Urie of Panic! At the Disco appears again in this fun song (okay, the beat of the song is fun, maybe not the lyrics). One one hand, while this song is a drug reference ("Mr. Benzedrine" which causes a nose bleed)... however, the substance in question was used by soldiers in World War II to stay awake. Similarly, the lyrics also appear to reference President Bush ("when I look at the man who would be king") who "goes to the desert [for] the same war his dad rehearsed" (Iraq), coming back "with flags on coffins and said we won." In fact, Patrick Stump claims that "the rest of the proof is on the television."

Pete's poem at the end of the song is an interesting piece all on its own, referencing the media again ("the charts are boring") and how it affects Pete and other celebrities like him - riches ("I've got enough miles on my card / To fly the boys home on my own" but low self-esteem ("my ego's in a sling").

13. West Coast Smoker (ft. Debbie Harry)
"Knock once for the Father, twice for the Son, three times for the Holy Ghost."

I really love this song, but it's a little difficult to piece out its meaning. While some people have pointed out the "knock once for the Father, twice for the Son, three times for the Holy Ghost" as being codes for the buying and selling of drugs, others have pointed to politicians such as Bush who took drugs and was refused admission into Texas Law School ("my degree in the gutter"): "come on in the water's warm; come on in like a sugar cube; but with a kick in the head." Another person pointed out that "knock one for the father, twice for the son, three times for the holy ghost" may be alluding to Dante's Divine Comedy in which first part, Inferno, shows the power of the Father, the second part, Purgatory (the Wisdom of the Son), and finally the third, Paradise with the Love of the Holy Spirit. Then again, Inferno could be an allusion to the hell of "27" and "W.A.M.S." to which celebrities fall to. The celebrities of today seems like a viable reading - "your eyes are blocking my starlight." Perhaps the Trinity line then could be the celebrity/writer in question calling to God for help in his situation? He certainly is a confused person ("I'm a nervous wreck") who is unsure whether he should just keep going with "the drugs [that] make me reset" or perhaps God could help him - "the disorganized religion of my head."


Finally, what does the title of this album refer to? Folie à Deux means "a madness shared by two." Who are the two? Pete and Patrick? If so, what is the madness they share? The madness to continue in this toxic world of the media? That interpretation is interesting, seeing as the band went on a hiatus after this album. (I know this is a really wild interpretation, but if taking an English major has taught me anything, it's that the craziest interpretations are the ones that seem to have the most influence... although Pete's lyrics on this album suddenly make me realize that that might not be such a good thing.)

And now, for the moment of truth...

Favourite song(s): "Disloyal Order of Water Buffaloes" and "What a Catch, Donnie"
Alyianna's rating: 10 out of 10 (but that's my musical taste)
Flags? 1 warning flag for some lyrics

Monday, May 25, 2015

Supernatural: Purgatory and Purification (Part I)

I decided to try to my hand at writing some Supernatural meta(fiction)... so here goes the beginning of several posts in which I will examine different aspects of the show from a Catholic perspective. Before you start, you may want to check out my review of the first few seasons so that you have some idea of what I'm talking about, but keep in mind that the show has changed a lot since then. 
First of all, I think I should briefly mention how I watch Supernatural. I’m a devout (I hope that adjective applies) Catholic, so I watch the show through such lens. I’m the type of person who looks for evidence that God does indeed care about the Winchesters (which is one of the reasons why I love the [canon] idea of Chuck being God so much). I don’t like very much how angels are represented (something that I hope to address in another post), but I let it go because these are fictional characters.... and because there are some angels who can be counted among the most heroic characters in the show (I'm looking at you, Castiel, Gadreel, and Samandriel).

Let us start now with the topic that I wish to talk about. I’m going to start with Purgatory, which is one of my very favourite things about the show (which is in a tie with the exorcisms of the early seasons). I’m going to refer throughout this post to this post from Fr. Angel Sotelo, which inspired me to write... this post (I really didn't mean to use that phrase three times). You may want to read that post before you continue any further because I’m going to expect that you know about the Catholic Church’s teaching on Purgatory. This is going to be important to understand Purgatory in the show because the writers often incorporate beliefs and traditions of Christianity, Judaism, and other faiths.

Castiel in Purgatory

Purgatory in Supernatural has quite a few differences from the Catholic view of Purgatory. First of all, it was created not as a place to purify from sin (an idea which I will return to in a moment), but as a kind of prison for creatures called Leviathon - as well as many other monsters when they die. However, Dean - a human - and Castiel - an angel - are sent to Purgatory when they kill Dick (Richard) Roman, a Leviathon. As the line “exploding [Richard Roman] sends [you] to Purgatory,” I’m going to assume that Dean and Cas were taken along on the ride to Purgatory because parts of Roman’s human vessel (and Leviathon insides) touched them. One could argue that Dean and Cas went to Purgatory because they are monsters and when monsters die, that’s where they go, but I disagree. Both characters have done horrible things (Castiel’s pride leading him to claim godship and Dean having killed innocent people), but they had both repented for their sins.

Back to the idea of purity. Dean is able to escape Purgatory by the help of Benny, a good-hearted vampire (sounds like a paradox, right?), and when he is reunited with his brother Sam, he tells him that the air of Purgatory “felt pure.” We don’t see much of what happened in Purgatory - all we see is Dean and Castiel killing monsters and trying to escape - but, according to the show, supposedly the two men were there for a year. That’s a lot of time for a lot of things to happen that we as viewers don’t know about. I assume that the general idea is that killing all those monsters in this particular environment “felt pure” ... but to my mind, that doesn’t make any sense, even in a fictional world.

I’m going to quote a couple of things from Fr. Sotelo’s post now.

the souls in Purgatory

“Jesus refers to some kind of process after death, whereby the Christian can do some kind of penance for the sinful deeds of the body, which were not sinful enough to get a person condemned to hell fire.”

“The experience of purification, or the purgation of a soul of its residual stains of rebellion and selfishness, are in the hands of God. So, the Lord can ask that a soul pass through the state of purgatory, or God can use certain experiences as the substance of a soul’s purgatory.” [bold and italics added]

“Thus, purgatory as an experience of growth in the fear of the Lord and love of His providence, is something that does not require a certain phase of time. It can be instantaneous, which would account for the Catholic belief that purgatory ceases to exist at the time of the resurrection of the dead on the Final Day, also called the End of Days.”


Okay. Now let's take a quick look at Dean's mindset and his life before Purgatory. Dean and his brother Sam were brought up by their father, John Winchester, to hunt monsters like vampires, werewolves, and many other creatures or personages from lore, such as the Woman in White and Wendigo. John Winchester started doing this when his wife was killed by a demon because he wanted revenge, but after their father's death, the two brothers continued his work of fighting evil in order to save lives - "saving people, hunting things, the family business." :)

The difference between Sam and Dean is that while Sam has always disliked the "family business" and has tried on many occasions to leave it, Dean appears unable to do so. After Sam dies at the end of season five, Dean returns to his old girlfriend Lisa and spends a year with her and her son Ben (after which Sam returns). However, during this time, Dean is portrayed as being miserable. He can never really settle down and when a monster appears in the neighbourhood, the hunter's instinct kicks in and Dean is on the case right away. After Sam returns (courtesy of Castiel), Dean returns to working cases; he tries to keep up his home life with Lisa and Ben, but finally, Lisa tells him to leave because she knows that it is impossible for him to live both lives.

I have also read some meta (I would give if a link if I had it because that post was really well written) in which the writer views Dean as thinking differently from Sam because of the way he was raised by his father. Dean was raised like a soldier - ready for orders, to fight, and if he makes a mistake, he admits it and then moves on. While I agree with the last statement to a certain extent, Dean has been portrayed as hanging onto guilt for a very long time. When Sam is on his own quest for purification (which I am going to look at in the second part of this meta), Dean immediately has some ideas and begins stating Sam's sins of the past seasons. Dean is the type of person that forgives other people (though it may take some time), but never forgets. But when it comes to himself, Dean has been portrayed in earlier seasons as having great difficulty in forgiving. He dwells on past mistakes and lives them over and over again. "You don't think you deserve to be saved," Castiel realizes when he first 'meets' Dean in the first episode of season four.

Okay, that's quite a lot of text that appears to be off-topic. I'm going to use the information from all that in just a moment. The writers of Supernatural have encouraged meta and to read the subtext, and the meta I've read made me realize that there are so many layers to the show. So even though the writers say that Purgatory is where monsters go, I'm not going to believe that that's the only explanation for Purgatory. So I look for hints. What is my biggest hint? Dean says that Purgatory felt pure. This is an idea that is mentioned so many times (even three seasons later) that it can't be just a coincidence. There is no explanation of the meaning of pure, though. So what do I do? I take the knowledge of my faith and combine that with what I know about Dean.

Dean in Purgatory

Dean has repented for the crimes of his past, but he still carries around all that guilt. How can that guilt be absolved? Unlike other people, I don't believe that just "forgiving myself" quite does the trick. In season seven, Dean ends up in Purgatory - the place, which according to Judeo-Christian tradition, purifies the soul. Seems like the perfect place for Dean to let go of all that guilt, right? And the way we see that happening is through Dean doing what he likes to do best - kill monsters. Of course, here in Purgatory, it is defence, but the underlying idea is that Dean would always fight evil in order to saves the lives of innocent people. Therefore, in a psychological sense at the subconscious level, Dean would be redeeming himself by making up for the sins of his past.

In the second part of this meta, I am going to examine Sam's purification - another sort of Purgatory - in season eight.



Friday, May 22, 2015

Blog Reopening!

I know, I know. It's been a horribly long time since I last posted, and I apologize for that. Long story short, I got very busy with school and then it had been so long that I just decided to drop blogging. However, I recently joined tumblr and it was partly TV show metafiction and partly some theological posts by a Catholic priest that made me decide to come back. Therefore, I'm going to collect some thoughts on books I read this year as well as my own analysis of shows and I am going to make another attempt at blogging. I can't promise that I'll post often, but I will post, starting on Monday.

Thank you all for hanging around. See you all on May 25th!

Friday, December 19, 2014

How to Become a Heroic Catholic ~ book review

(This is my fourth read-for-a-review.)




Want a book on Catholic apologetics for teenagers written by a teenager? This is your book!

This book is set out like a conversation with words like y'all (giving a really nice regional vibe) and epic. At first this stylistic decision threw me off, but it worked out quite well. HBHC is a book that is meant to help one with debates with Protestants, so a dialogue style works well for it. It also works well for the audience - young Catholic teenagers, though this book is great for older people, as well.

I was really impressed with HBHC. I was taught my Faith quite well, but I still learned quite a few things from this book. It also has become my go-to book for when I have a debate with Protestant friends with its handy Bible verses. I hear that Catherine is planning to write another apologetics-type book, so I'm really exited for that. :)

Alyianna's rating: 10 out of 10

P.S. Catherine is a friend of one of my favourite authors, Gina Marinello-Sweeney, so if you love Gina, read this. ;)


Buy the book: http://www.amazon.com/How-Become-Heroic-Catholic-Catholicism/dp/1502706520
Catherine's website: http://howtobecomeaheroiccatholic.com/

And here is a really good interview with the author...


Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Supernatural {Seasons 1-3} ~ a TV show review


Genres: drama, horror, fantasy, action, adventure, mystery
Lead Actors: Jared Padalecki, Jensen Ackles


Supernatural is an American TV show that focuses on brothers Dean (Jensen Ackles) and Sam Winchester (Jared Padalecki), who were raised by their father from an early age to hunt all things evil - spirits, vampires, werewolves, and demons. When the show begins, Sam has left this life to go to college because he doesn't get along with his father, John Winchester, who is obsessed with finding the demon that killed Sam and Dean's mother, Mary Winchester. However, when Dean shows up with the news that "Dad's on a hunting trip, and he hasn't been home in a few days", Sam decides to go on one last trip to help his father. However, when the brothers don't find their father, and Sam's girlfriend is killed by the same demon that killed Mary, Sam goes back to hunting with his brother, hoping to find his father and get revenge along with him. After season one, the plots start to get more condensed, with more episodes focusing on the theme of the season rather than episodes with just hunting.

Dean (left); Sam (right)

My favourite part of this TV show are the rituals that have hints of Catholicism in them. While Dean is agnostic (though he does gain some more faith as the show goes on) and Sam has some belief in God, there are undoubtedly Catholic undertones to the show. First, there is Sam and Dean themselves, who risk their lives on a daily basis to save innocent people. However, what I am going to focus on are the exorcisms. Like what one may find on a Catholic website about demonic possession, a person who is possessed has a voice and face (black eyes in the show) change. The demons in the show will flinch at the name of Christ or if they are touched by holy water. To exorcise demons, Sam and Dean use rosaries, holy water, and  actual exorcisms in Latin. One of the exorcisms in the show roughly translates to:

"Thus, cursed demon and every diabolical legion, we adjure you. Cease to deceive human creatures, and to give to them the Poison of Eternal Perdition.  Go away, Satan, inventor and master of all deceit, enemy of humanity's salvation. Be humble under the Powerful Hand of God --tremble and flee -- I invoke by us the Sacred and Terrible Name at which those down below tremble. From the snares of the devil, free us, Lord. So that You may make Your Church safe to serve You freely, we ask You, hear us. So that You may destroy the enemies of Your Sacred Church, we ask You, hear us!"




Therefore, while there is no priest doing the exorcism in Supernatural like it should be, I am willing to let that slide because I find it impressive that a secular TV show would have such Catholic elements in it. When it comes to the demons, even the Seven Deadly Sins show up. But really, the demons are horrible. I love the idea of fighting the forces of evil, but if there's one thing I have to say about this show, it would be that it really puts the fear of Satan and Hell into me!

However, like almost any other contemporary TV show, Supernatural has some problems - therefore, it's not for kids (but even then, I think the horror would be too much for a young person). There are some camera focuses on certain parts of a woman's body from time to time and/or some inappropriate women outfits, especially if it's an episode with a vampire because they are very lustful creatures. Dean is a player, but it's more amusing than inappropriate. There are two scenes that I had to skip - one with Dean in season 1 ("Route 666", which is a great episode besides that one part so that was really unfortunate) and one with Sam in season 2 ("Heart").

There's another issue in this show (mainly season 3) that I'm a little iffy on. If there's one thing Dean and his father are good at, it's horrible decisions. What horrible decisions, you ask? (This information is major spoilers, by the way.) At the beginning of season 2, John Winchester sells his soul to the demon that killed his wife to bring Dean back to life. And when Sam is killed at the end of season 2, Dean sells his soul to bring his brother back to life. HOWEVER - and this is the thing that makes me forgive the producers/writers for this - the issue isn't taken lightly. Things only really started happening at the end of season 3, but there's definitely going to be consequences. As it is, season 3 ended with Dean in Hell, tortured, screaming - and from what I've seen so far of season 4, the show gets redeemed pretty fast.

Alyianna's rating: 10 out of 10 (with 1 warning flag)





Thursday, November 13, 2014

Blank Space ~ a Taylor Swift Review


"Blank Space" is one of my favourite songs off Taylor Swift's new album 1989. In this song, Taylor paints herself as the character the media portrays her to be - dating dozens of boys and insane. The song is very ironic and is full of sarcasm. Being a fan of Taylor for five years now, I really like that she addressed the media's lies about her in this way - much better than proclaiming everyone a "hater" like in "Shake It Off".

The music video, however, is even better. Not only does Taylor take on this character in her song, but she also does so in the video. I am very impressed by everything about this music video - the beautiful luxury house and grounds, fighting matching up to the lyrics, the hallway full of painting of Taylor's "ex-lovers", the gorgeous costumes, Taylor with cry-smears of mascara and an axe but yet still looking flawless. I'm not going to say anymore, otherwise, I would be gushing for hours. Even though Taylor's music has gone downhill with her latest album, the music video for "Blank Space" is her best yet.

Alyianna's ratings
Song: 9 out of 10
Music video: 10 out of 10