Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Books & Authors from my Childhood - Part One

Kit Pearson's Guests of War trilogy

This trilogy contains three of the most-loved books of my childhood. Part of the reason is that I loved (and still) love reading about the War, the other part being that I loved Kit Pearson's stories. Besides The Lord of the Rings, this is the one other book (let's just count it as one book for the moment) that I've read so many times that I've lost count.

In the first book, The Sky Is Falling, we are introduced to the main character, ten-year-old Norah. She lives with her Mum, Dad, and little brother Gavin. Children from her village have already started being evacuated, but Norah believes that her parents would never do that to her. However, her hopes are dashed, and she and Gavin are packed off to stay in Canada. The situation is worsened by who Norah and Gavin have two stay with - two older ladies, one being sweet and understanding, the other bossy and quite the other way around, insisting that the two siblings call her Aunt Florence. Even worse, Gavin seems to adjust to his new life right away when all Norah wants is for the war to be over so that she can go home.

The second book, Looking at the Moon, continues with Norah's story. Norah is now thirteen, somewhat adjusted with her new life, and ready for a fun-filled summer at the Olgvie's family island. However, things seem to take a turn for the worse when all of her new girl "cousins" can seem to ever think or talk about is love. But then Norah herself is introduced to this new world of puberty and first love.

Three years later, we return to this continuing story with The Lights Go On Again (the title alluding to the end of the war when there were no more black-outs). However, we have a new main character - Gavin - and he's certainly got problems, and that's even ignoring the fact of the school bully. His grandfather, who Gavin does not even remember, suddenly turns up and wants to take Norah and Gavin home. Aunt Florence, however, is ready to bribe in any way to keep her darling Gavin with her. Gavin will have to make a choice between his new family and his old - a choice that will decide his future.

These three books are completely appropriate. They have good values, such as as the consequences of disobedience (The Sky Is Falling) and lying (The Lights Go On Again). These are great historical fiction books for kids (and may I hint that older kids may like them, too?). I would give these books to any kid from around the age of 10 and older. Eight and nine are probably okay to read these, too, as long as you're fine with your kids reading about girl puberty stuff in the second book and a small amount of romance in books two and three.

Alyianna's rating: 9 out 10


Charity U said...

Fun idea for a series of posts! I'll look forward to seeing more of these. :)

Alyianna said...

Thanks Charity. :)

Anonymous said...

those all sound pretty good! sorry I haven't visited in a while! :)

Lucy Pevensie said...

I DO like the Guests of War trilogy... :)

Alyianna Baggins said...

Heh...so you admit it. ;)